The Association


An innovative program of the NSSA that improves the quality of aquatic habitat for fish and other wildlife.

Learn More


In the fall of 1962, a group of anglers who regularly met at T.J. Egan & Sons, a gun and tackle shop located on Lower Water Street in Halifax, were discussing concerns about a proposed hydroelectric development on the Gold River. These gents had witnessed the effects of other hydroelectric developments on the Mersey, Nictaux and Ingram Rivers. Soon after, on a wintery February evening in 1963, the Nova Scotia Salmon Association was formed during a standing room only meeting hosted at Lohnes Restuarant in downtown Halifax. Mr. Don Oland was chosen as our first President. The Association met with early success as the proposal to dam the Gold River was abandoned and several river specific affiliates were formed.
In 1985, the Association became affiliated with the Atlantic Salmon Federation as the Regional Council for Nova Scotia. The federation has seven Regional Councils located in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, Quebec, New England and Maine. Together, the Regional Councils represent more than 150 river affiliates throughout Atlantic Canada and over 40,000 volunteers.

Past Presidents
Réné Aucoin – 2014-2017
George Ferguson – 2011-2014
Carl Purcell – 2007-2011
David Reid – 2004-2006
George Ferguson – 2000-2004
Terry MacIntyre – 1994-2000
Carl Purcell – 1992-1994
George Mansfield – 1990-1992
Carl Purcell – 1988-1990
Katharine Mott – 1986-1988
David Symonds – 1982-1986